Thursday: Writing Exercises

Hey there! First of all, I want to apologize for not posting yesterday. I have been really tight on time the past few days, and I couldn’t find the time to get it done. Really sorry about that. Anyway, on with today’s post.

As it is Thursday, I will be sharing some more writing exercises. Here are five that I have found, again from various places. I hope these help somebody with their writing!


First on the list is something that may seem fairly obvious to some people, but which I somehow never thought of before a few weeks ago. This was recommended to me by a friend, and I have modified it a bit: Free Writing.

Exercise #1: Free Writing

Free writing is really easy, and there aren’t really any “steps” that you have to follow, but even so, I’ll list a few things that I like to do with it.

1) Choose a topic to write about. It doesn’t have to be related to anything else you’re writing, but it can if you’d like. I personally like to choose an emotion and personify it, but you can do what you want to do. Basically, decide on a topic and write about it, whatever comes to mind.

2) Give yourself a time limit. I like to write in ten-minute chunks for this exercise, but you can make it however long or short you want to. I find that I want to write faster to get all my ideas out before the time is up, but feel free to write slowly. And of course, you can always go over the time limit if you need to!

That’s actually all I’ve got for this exercise. I was thinking that there was more, but now I guess that’s basically it. Anyway, I guess I should move on to the next exercise.


I’m calling this one character creation, and it is exactly what it sounds like.

Exercise #2: Character Creation

This one doesn’t really have any steps, either, but I’ll write a bit about it anyway.

For this exercise, all you have to do is create a character. It could be for a story, for a role playing game, or anything, really. It could just be for fun! I do this for fun a lot, and I can often find a story to place the characters in, even if it’s just a minor role.

I’ve heard a suggestion for this exercise that I haven’t tried, but that I think would be interesting, so I thought I’d share:

Try creating a character that has the personality (or some similar traits) of someone you love, and the physical appearance of someone you do not like very much.


This third exercise is one that I heard of, though I can’t remember when, and have yet to try. It seems like it could be both fun and interesting, though, and I hope it inspires some of you.

Exercise #3: 7x7x7x7

As you might have guessed, there are a lot of sevens in this exercise. Here are the instructions:

1) Pick up the 7th book on your book shelf. (If you don’t have seven books, just choose any one of them.)

2) Open that book to the 7th page.

3) Find the 7th line on that 7th page, and use it as a prompt for step four.

4) Write a 7-line poem using the inspiration from step 3. (Keep in mind that it doesn’t have to be good, it just has to be written.)

And that’s it! Just write a poem, and hopefully something in it will inspire you. If not, though, at least you’ll have written something.


Finally, we have one that I really can’t wait to try — fairy tale retellings, but short ones, and from different points of view. It was called rewritten fairy tales.

Exercise #4: Rewritten Fairy Tales

This one is just like I said before — it does not really require much explanation. All you do is pick a fairy tale and write it, but from someone else’s point of view.

Some possibilities: write in from the perspective of the main character’s parent, or of the villain. You could even write it from the point of view of someone who wasn’t originally in the story. It’s up to you.

I hope you guys like this one, because I really do, though I haven’t tried it yet. I plan to do it sometime soon!


Thank you for reading! I realize that this was shorter than normal, but I am really running low on time again tonight. Sorry, I hope to find more time in the future to keep up the longer posts. But thank you again!


Writing Dare

Use a character from another story that you have already written (or begun, at least) in a completely unrelated story. You don’t have to keep it that way, but it could be fun to see how they react in a different setting with different fellow characters.

Leave a Reply

