Friday: Encouragement

Hello everyone! It’s Friday already — for me, at least, this week has flown by. It still feels like it should be Tuesday or something. But anyway, on with the post. Here are some quotes that I like and have found to be encouraging. I hope they help someone else out there, too!


Those who do not want to imitate anything, produce nothing.

Salvador Dali

This quote is one I really like. I think it’s a good reminder that your ideas aren’t going to be completely original. They may not be original at all. But if we let that get in our way, then we’re never going to write anything at all. You need to get over that fear and just write. Write your story, because no one has written it in the same way you can.


If I create from the heart, nearly everything works; if from the head, almost nothing.

Marc Chagall

Another one I like a lot, this quote reminds me that I should love writing. If writing becomes a chore, chances are I need to take a break or work on something new for a little while. If I don’t love what I am writing, then that will come through in the writing. Don’t always write what you think you should write; sometimes you should just write whatever you feel like writing. Don’t make it a chore. What’s the point of writing if you don’t love what you’re doing?


If people knew how hard I worked to get my mastery, it wouldn’t seem so wonderful at all.

Michaelangelo

This one is a reminder of the somewhat harsh reality that writing isn’t always going to be easy; you will need to work hard and rewrite and rewrite, over and over again. Although he’s talking about painting, I think that this applies really well to writing, or really to almost anything.

I think that sometimes we get it in our heads that the amazing stories we read were just made that way. The author didn’t have to work hard, it was like this from the beginning. And that’s really incorrect. A whole lot of hard work was put into that writing, and it will have to be the same for yours, if you want it to be “good”.


Inspiration does exist, but it must find you working.

Pablo Picasso

Again, talking about painting, but it applies well to writing, too. I know from experience that there will be days that you just feel really inspired and want to write, and you’ll get a whole lot of writing done. They do happen, once in a while.

But most days, inspiration doesn’t come until I’ve already started writing. Sometimes it takes a long time. Sometimes it doesn’t come at all. But you’ve just got to push through it, because you will find inspiration eventually, even if you don’t feel like it ever will. Just keep writing, and inspiration will find you.


To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is to make your soul grow. So do it.

Kurt Vonnegut

I hadn’t thought of things this way, but I really like this perspective. It doesn’t matter if your writing is good or bad. I know that the majority of mine isn’t very good, as much as I hate to admit it. But I do it anyway. I especially like his last words in this — So do it.

Don’t hesitate. Don’t keep worrying about how bad it might be. Just sit down, and write.


As always, thank you for reading! I hope that these help to encourage anyone who reads this. If you have any other quotes that you like or find inspiring and encouraging, please feel free to share them in the comments!


Writing Dare

Give one of your characters a really unusual name. Or, if your characters already have unusual names, give them a “normal” name.

Leave a Reply

