Friday: Encouragement

Hey again! I know I’ve already posted today, but I want to do it again. I’m planning to make Fridays “encouragement days,” though I might post other stuff as well. I’m basically just going to share some quotes and advice and things that I find encouraging and inspiring for me, which I hope will help anyone who may read this, too.

This kind of encouragement is probably going to be mostly geared towards writers, poets, etc., but some of this may be applicable to other kinds of artists or just people in general. I don’t really know. Anyway, below are a few things that I’ve found encouraging lately, that I thought I’d share.


Exercise the writing muscle every day, even if it is only a letter, notes, a title list, a character sketch, a journal entry. Writers are like dancers, like athletes. Without that exercise, the muscles seize up.

(Jane Yolen)

I really like this quote. I personally don’t work on my current novel every day. I take Sundays off, but I write in my journal on those days. It still writing, but I had it in my head that I should be working on my novel every single day.

This quote gave me some perspective. It made me realize that it’s okay to take breaks from it. It’s even okay, in my opinion, to take breaks from writing completely. If a day goes past without any writing, the world will not end. But if you can, try to write something every day.


Stress is basically a disconnection from the earth, a forgetting of the breath. Stress is an ignorant state. It believes that everything is an emergency. Nothing is that important. Just lie down.

(Natalie Goldberg)

So, yeah, this one isn’t specifically about writing. But I was stressing a little bit over my Mandarin studies earlier this week — this advice helped.

Just breathe. Take a short break. Or a long one. Again, whatever it is, it isn’t the end of the world. Remember: perspective.


Always have a plan for what you’re going to write, before you start writing.

(R.L. Stine)

Alright, this isn’t even an exact quote, but it’s still good advice. I think that a lot of the problems I face when I’m trying to get stuff written is that I don’t have a plan. I don’t know where to start, or where I want it to go.

Chances are, other writers are having problems like this, as well. I know of a few that do. I’ve heard this advice before, and I recently heard it again. I’m following this advice again and planning out what I want to write before I write it . . . this has helped a lot. I hope it helps you, too.


I hope that at least one of these quotes/pieces of advice help someone. I found that  having a collection of inspiring quotes can be quite useful, especially just to reread when I’m having troubles with writing, or anything else. My goal is to try to help other people find that same encouragement when they need it.

Anyway, thanks for reading, and again, I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

